2023 UFA Season Awards

September 20, 2023

The UFA is proud to announce the 2023 individual awards and All-UFA team selections. Jeff Babbitt was announced as the eighth MVP in league history, crowning New York's second straight perfect season and UFA title. Other news and notes from this year's selections:

  • Ben Jagt, Pawel Janas, Jordan Kerr, and Ryan Osgar are all making their second straight appearances on First Team All-UFA
    • Osgar has been selected in three consecutive to the First Team
    • Jagt has a league record five straight appearances on the First Team
    • Janas has the all-time record with six straight All-UFA nominations, including five First Team (2017, 2018, 2021, 2022, 2023) selections and one Second Team (2019)
  • Christian Boxley, Antoine Davis, Mac Hecht, Brett Hulsmeyer, Garrett Martin, Jacob Miller, John Randolph, and Evan Swiatek are all first time selections
  • Cody Spicer is the first player to earn back-to-back First Team All Defense selections
    • Dylan DeClerck (2021, 2023), Brett Hulsmeyer (2021, 2023), and Paul Owens (2022, 2023) have all earned two All Defense nominations
MVP Jeff Babbitt New York Empire Ryan Osgar Jordan Kerr
Rookie of the Year Lukas Ambrose Los Angeles Aviators Walker Frankenberg McKay Yorgason
Defensive Player of the Year Antoine Davis New York Empire Lukas Ambrose John Randolph
Most Improved Player Jace Duennebeil Salt Lake Shred Duncan Fitzgerald Garrett Martin
Coach of the Year Bryce Merrill Salt Lake Shred Steven Naji Charlie Hoppes, Anthony Nuñez

First Team All-UFA

* Unanimous selection

Second Team All-UFA

Third Team All-UFA

Honorable mentions: Lukas Ambrose, LA; Alex Atkins, COL; Sean Connole, SLC; Jace Duennebeil, SLC; Keenan Laurence, OAK; Tyler Monroe, DC; Matt Smith, ATL; Cody Spicer, COL; Austin Taylor, ATL; Bryan Vohnoutka, MIN

First Team All Defense

* Unanimous selection

Second Team All Defense

Honorable mentions: Noah Coolman, COL; Alexandre Fall, DC; Jonny Hoffman, SLC; Ben Katz, NY; Bretton Tan, NY; Max Trifillis, PHI; Chad Yorgason, SLC

First Team All Rookie

* Unanimous selection

​Second Team All Rookie

Honorable mentions: Tyler Chan, BOS; Tony Goss, SEA; Saeed Semrin, COL