Jeff Babbitt Wins 2023 AUDL MVP Award

September 20, 2023

After another perfect season and a second straight AUDL title, Jeff Babbitt of the New York Empire has been named the 2023 AUDL MVP. Now in his seventh year with New York, Babbitt led the league in goals and averaged 4.3 per game, including six different starts with at least six goals scored. Babbitt finishes the 2023 season ranked eighth all-time in both goals (276) and blocks (150), and joins teammates Ryan Osgar and Ben Jagt as the fourth Empire member selected for the MVP award. 

Babbitt could not be kept out of the end zone this season. And despite missing the 2023 East Division Championship Game with an injury, Babbitt still scored double digit goals in the playoffs for the third time in his career; Babbitt played just 17 total points at Championship Weekend and still finished with 10 goals. 

Other MVP notes:

  • New MVP record for highest completion rate (97.4 percent)
  • Fewest turnovers ever by an MVP (4)
  • Babbitt has not recorded a drop in each of the past three seasons
  • Nearly 4:1 block-to-turnover ratio
  • Fewest assists ever by an MVP candidate (2)

2023 AUDL MVP voting finish:

  1. Jeff Babbitt, New York Empire
  2. Ryan Osgar, New York Empire
  3. Jordan Kerr, Salt Lake Shred

Past AUDL MVP winners: